Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Research and development COVID-19

Rastafari Movement UK worker
Impact on Urban Health logo
Impact on Urban Health
Opinion
31 Jan 2022

“Unrestricted funding allowed us to do what we thought was right”

At the height of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, we set up an emergency fund to support essential community services with a more equitable funding model.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

View of London from Southwark Bridge
Andy Ratcliffe
Andy Ratcliffe
Executive Director
Opinion
11 Jan 2022

Clear the air in 2022 to make the UK healthier and fairer

Air pollution is the single greatest environmental threat to human health, but there is hope. Andy Ratcliffe shares why.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Clear the air stand
Patrick Lee
Patrick Lee
Communications Manager
Opinion
29 Nov 2021

Three things we learnt at COP26

We travelled to COP26 with Asthma UK and the British Lung Foundation as part of the 'Clear the air' campaign. Here's what we learnt.

Read more

Research and development

Spring Community Hub
Olamide Raheem
Olamide Raheem
On Purpose Associate
Opinion
29 Nov 2021

Providing unrestricted funding to community organisations at the height of the pandemic

As part of our COVID Emergency Fund, we supported organisations that provide services in the local community that impact health.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Glasgow skyline
Patrick Lee
Patrick Lee
Communications Manager
Opinion
29 Oct 2021

We’re going to COP26 because it’s time to clear the air

Our Communications Manager, Patrick Lee, explains how addressing the health effects of air pollution are crucial to tackling the climate crisis and improving global health.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

ULEZ sign
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
26 Oct 2021

ULEZ can do for our streets what the smoking ban did for our indoor spaces

Our Programme Director, Kate Langford, explores the fairness and effectiveness of the ULEZ expansion in London.

Read more

Research and development

alt=
Louise Mousseau
Louise Mousseau
Portfolio Director
Opinion
05 Oct 2021

Community research: who’s in control?

Can health research be more equitable, and enable local residents to lead the research agenda?

Read more

Urban health COVID-19

Pandemic recovery: social distancing sign
Rowena Estwick
Rowena Estwick
Head of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Opinion
25 Aug 2021

Those most affected by the pandemic must be heard to shape a fair and healthy recovery

Rowena Estwick talks about the need for an equitable research approach to create policies with impact and amplify underrepresented voices.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Construction site in south London
Daniel Marsh
Programme Manager, Centre for Low Emission Construction
Opinion
23 Aug 2021

Why it’s vital for the construction sector to be engaged in improving air quality

An opinion piece from our partner, the Centre for Low Emission Construction.

Read more
Showing 10 to 18 of 82 items

An error occurred, please try again later