Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Health effects of air pollution Childhood obesity

Street with planters and signs blocking access to car traffic
Niamh McGarry
Research Director at ClearView Research
Opinion
01 Jun 2021

How community researchers are helping us assess Healthy Streets

Through our Healthy Streets Southwark project, we're using researchers from the local area to help us evaluate measures to make streets safer and more useable.

Read more

Urban health

Person sitting at a bus stop in London
Anna Garrod
Anna Garrod
Policy and Influencing Director
Opinion
27 May 2021

Why local elections matter for our health

Policy and Influencing Director, Anna Garrod, explores the impact of the recent local elections on shaping place and policy that impacts our health.

Read more

COVID-19 Urban health

London park with social distancing
Kenny Imafidon
Co-Founder and MD, ClearView Research
Opinion
17 May 2021

“Of course we have questions”

As part of our vaccine knowledge portfolio, we're working with ClearView Research, an audience insight and strategy agency, to better understand the opinions of Black residents in Lambeth and Southwark.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Mum and daughter at self-checkout in a supermarket
Louise Foreman
Louise Foreman
Portfolio Manager (community engagement)
Opinion
06 May 2021

Making healthy options easier: how supermarkets can support children’s nutrition

Portfolio Manager Louise Foreman and Engagement Manager Matthias Lomas from Guy's & St Thomas' Foundation discuss how we are working to shape healthier and more equitable food environments.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Man walking down business arcade
Matt Towner
Matt Towner
Portfolio Manager (paternity leave)
Opinion
30 Apr 2021

Can business help deliver better air quality?

Portfolio Manager Matt Towner explores the role businesses can, and should, play in ensuring economic recovery from the pandemic and health go hand in hand.

Read more

Urban health

Lambeth and Southwark from above, Map data ©2021 Google
Anna Tarkington
Anna Tarkington
Data Partnerships Manager
Opinion
12 Apr 2021

Creating an Urban Health Index for Lambeth and Southwark

Data Partnerships Manager, Anna Tarkington, talks about the launch of the Urban Health Index, a ground-breaking social progress index for Lambeth and Southwark.

Read more

Urban health

People outside corner shop
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
01 Apr 2021

Response to the Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities report

Chief Executive Kieron Boyle responds to the UK Government's Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities report

Read more

Childhood obesity

Woman shopping in supermarket
Claire Stidston
Claire Stidston
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
01 Apr 2021

Healthy profits: how wholesalers and retailers can increase sales of healthy products

Portfolio Manager Claire Stidston shares more on our pilot to engage wholesalers and convenience stores to drive uptake of healthier options.

Read more

Childhood obesity COVID-19

Mother and son in kitchen
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director
Opinion
30 Mar 2021

Holding the past, present, and future when working on food during the pandemic

Programme Director Sarah Hickey shares her reflections on COVID-19's impact on our childhood obesity programme.

Read more
Showing 1 to 9 of 59 items

An error occurred, please try again later