Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Urban health COVID-19

Social distancing markings on a sign
Rowena Estwick
Rowena Estwick
National and International Partnerships Manager (on secondment)
Opinion
25 Aug 2021

Those most affected by the pandemic must be heard to shape a fair and healthy recovery

Rowena Estwick talks about the need for an equitable research approach to create policies with impact.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Construction site in south London
Daniel Marsh
Programme Manager, Centre for Low Emission Construction
Opinion
23 Aug 2021

Why it’s vital for the construction sector to be engaged in improving air quality

An opinion piece from our partner, the Centre for Low Emission Construction.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Child playing and eating an apple
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
15 Jul 2021

Market forces shape children’s health – Government can determine whether for better or worse

Our response to part two of the National Food Strategy authored by Henry Dimbleby.

Read more

Urban health COVID-19

Ambulance outside of Guys hospital
Anna Garrod
Anna Garrod
Policy and Influencing Director
Opinion
02 Jul 2021

Why Sajid Javid needs to think beyond healthcare to tackle post-COVID health inequality

Policy and Influencing Director, Anna Garrod, talks about the role the new Health Secretary can play in tackling health inequity in cities and beyond.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution Childhood obesity

Street with planters and signs blocking access to car traffic
Niamh McGarry
Research Director at ClearView Research
Opinion
01 Jun 2021

How community researchers are helping us assess Healthy Streets

Through our Healthy Streets Southwark project, we're using researchers from the local area to help us evaluate measures to make streets safer and more useable.

Read more

Urban health

Person sitting at a bus stop in London
Anna Garrod
Anna Garrod
Policy and Influencing Director
Opinion
27 May 2021

Why local elections matter for our health

Policy and Influencing Director, Anna Garrod, explores the impact of the recent local elections on shaping place and policy that impacts our health.

Read more

Research and development COVID-19

London park with social distancing
Kenny Imafidon
Co-Founder and MD, ClearView Research
Opinion
17 May 2021

“Of course we have questions”

As part of our vaccine knowledge portfolio, we're working with ClearView Research, an audience insight and strategy agency, to better understand the opinions of Black residents in Lambeth and Southwark.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Man walking down business arcade
Matt Towner
Matt Towner
Portfolio Manager (paternity leave)
Opinion
07 May 2021

Can business help deliver better air quality?

Portfolio Manager Matt Towner explores the role businesses can, and should, play in ensuring economic recovery from the pandemic and health go hand in hand.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Mum and daughter at self-checkout in a supermarket
Louise Foreman
Louise Foreman
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
06 May 2021

Making healthy options easier: how supermarkets can support children’s nutrition

Portfolio Manager Louise Foreman and Engagement Manager Matthias Lomas from Guy's & St Thomas' Foundation discuss how we are working to shape healthier and more equitable food environments.

Read more
Showing 1 to 9 of 62 items

An error occurred, please try again later