Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Childhood obesity

Mum and daughter at self-checkout in a supermarket
Louise Foreman
Louise Foreman
Portfolio Manager (community engagement)
Opinion
06 May 2021

Making healthy options easier: how supermarkets can support children’s nutrition

Portfolio Manager Louise Foreman and Engagement Manager Matthias Lomas from Guy's & St Thomas' Foundation discuss how we are working to shape healthier and more equitable food environments.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Man walking down business arcade
Matt Towner
Matt Towner
Portfolio Manager (paternity leave)
Opinion
30 Apr 2021

Can business help deliver better air quality?

Portfolio Manager Matt Towner explores the role businesses can, and should, play in ensuring economic recovery from the pandemic and health go hand in hand.

Read more

Urban health

Lambeth and Southwark from above, Map data ©2021 Google
Anna Tarkington
Anna Tarkington
Data Partnerships Manager
Opinion
12 Apr 2021

Creating an Urban Health Index for Lambeth and Southwark

Data Partnerships Manager, Anna Tarkington, talks about the launch of the Urban Health Index, a ground-breaking social progress index for Lambeth and Southwark.

Read more

Urban health

People outside corner shop
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
01 Apr 2021

Response to the Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities report

Chief Executive Kieron Boyle responds to the UK Government's Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities report

Read more

Childhood obesity

Woman shopping in supermarket
Claire Stidston
Claire Stidston
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
01 Apr 2021

Healthy profits: how wholesalers and retailers can increase sales of healthy products

Portfolio Manager Claire Stidston shares more on our pilot to engage wholesalers and convenience stores to drive uptake of healthier options.

Read more

Childhood obesity COVID-19

Mother and son in kitchen
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director
Opinion
30 Mar 2021

Holding the past, present, and future when working on food during the pandemic

Programme Director Sarah Hickey shares her reflections on COVID-19's impact on our childhood obesity programme.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions COVID-19

Woman shopping in a market
Rohan Martyres
Rohan Martyres
Programme Director (maternity cover)
Opinion
24 Mar 2021

One year on from lockdown: building back fairer

Programme Director Rohan Martyres shares his reflections on the impact of COVID-19 on local health inequity, and what it means for our work.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution COVID-19

Empty street in lockdown
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
18 Mar 2021

A small silver lining: reflections on air pollution in a pandemic

Kate Langford reflects on the impact, learnings and opportunities for our health effects of air pollution programme created by COVID-19.

Read more

Urban health COVID-19

Woman walking by housing block
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
17 Mar 2021

Unprecedented times, familiar inequalities

Chief Executive Kieron Boyle explores what we've learnt since the first lockdown, and how we can collectively shift the dial on health inequalities.

Read more
Showing 1 to 9 of 56 items

An error occurred, please try again later