Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Health effects of air pollution

alt=
Mark Heffernan
Mark Heffernan
Policy and Influencing Manager
Opinion
20 May 2022

A unique opportunity to shape the Government’s air quality policies.

Air pollution is an urgent public health crisis and a social justice issue. We must seize this unique opportunity to tell Government to prioritise clean air.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

alt=
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
28 Apr 2022

Air pollution is a problem we can solve. But the Government must show ambition in the Environment Act

If the Government is serious about addressing health inequality, it must set ambitious targets for clean air.

Read more

Research and development

alt=
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
19 Apr 2022

All good health interventions start with a simple action: Listening

Our Chief Executive's key reflections on the Young Foundation's Hive conference, where funders and commissioners discussed community research, and how it can improve people's health.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

Barbara Reichwein
Barbara Reichwein
Programme Director
Opinion
14 Apr 2022

How we’re responding to the cost of living crisis

Our Programme Director for multiple long-term conditions, Barbara Reichwein, talks about the real 'cost of surviving' crisis people are facing and how we're addressing this in our work.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

alt=
Nicola Bristow
Nicola Bristow
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
18 Mar 2022

A good day’s sleep: why sleep is essential to the health of night shift workers

On World Sleep Day, we reflect on the ways that working night shifts can affect health, and the innovative work our partners are doing to ensure shift workers get the support they need.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

alt=
Barbara Reichwein
Barbara Reichwein
Programme Director
Opinion
09 Mar 2022

From health to care: a healthy workforce is a must for the NHS

The State of Health and Care 2022 report exposes the significant changes needed to get the NHS on track. Our Programme Director for multiple long-term conditions, Barbara Reichwein, argues that this needs to start with supporting the health of the NHS workforce.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

alt=
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
21 Feb 2022

Reflections on London’s Clean Air and Health Summit

The Mayor of London, Government and leaders across healthcare agree: air pollution is a social justice issue. But how can we fix it?

Read more

Childhood obesity COVID-19

alt=
Rachel Pidgeon
Rachel Pidgeon
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
16 Feb 2022

Changing the conversation on children’s health in the context of COVID-19

When it comes to discussing complex issues around health, the words we use matter, and how an issue is framed can impact our understanding on how best to address it.

Read more

Research and development COVID-19

Rastafari Movement UK worker
Impact on Urban Health logo
Impact on Urban Health
Opinion
31 Jan 2022

“Unrestricted funding allowed us to do what we thought was right”

At the height of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, we set up an emergency fund to support essential community services with a more equitable funding model.

Read more
Showing 1 to 9 of 81 items

An error occurred, please try again later