Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Research and development COVID-19

Man cycling and wearing a face mask
Stephen Bediako OBE
Executive Chair, The Social Innovation Partnership
Opinion
02 Dec 2020

Collective responses to emergency COVID funding

We're working on a major new project to distribute emergency funding to Black-led, LGBTQ+, women's-focused and disability-led organisations.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Boy eating sandwich
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
12 Nov 2020

The Government’s winter package on addressing inequities in children’s diets

For food programmes to have a meaningful impact on health inequities, they need a persistent eye on two things: access and quality.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Healthy Markets campaign
Sharon Bligh
Healthier Lives Director, The Consumer Goods Forum
Opinion
15 Oct 2020

A closer look at our Collaboration for Healthier Lives

Assessing the progress of the innovative collaboration that aims to drive behavioural change and positively impact consumer health.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Child drinking from water fountain
Sean Miller
Founder, nonon
Opinion
29 Sep 2020

Young people’s response to healthier food on the go

Testing a new app concept to give young people affordable access to healthier food on the go.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Kids fast food menu
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
28 Sep 2020

Impact investing for social change with the new SMASH app

Impact investing can play a pivotal role in tackling health issues. Here's how we're investing to create systemic change that helps children eat healthier.

Read more

COVID-19 Multiple long-term conditions

Man walking in the park with walking poles
Rohan Martyres
Rohan Martyres
Programme Director (maternity cover)
Opinion
20 Aug 2020

Financial shields during COVID-19 to protect health

How we're acting on the evidence that debt and money worries can lead to food insecurity, poor diets, higher stress levels and deteriorating mental health.

Read more

COVID-19 Multiple long-term conditions

Shops and people in Brixton Village
Sham Rajyaguru
Sham Rajyaguru
Communications Manager
Opinion
03 Aug 2020

Neighbourhoods are key in responding to COVID-19

During the pandemic, we've seen people turn to their communities and neighbourhoods to support each other. We explain how hyper-local approaches are key to our work to improve urban health.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Shopping basket filled with products
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
30 Jul 2020

Our part to play in the new National Food Strategy

Where children grow up is a big predictor of their chances of becoming overweight or obese. We think the strategy can go further to tackle childhood obesity.

Read more

Urban health

People walking by a bus stop
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
27 Jul 2020

The collective responsibility for urban health

The pandemic has fast-forwarded a clock on urban health patterns that were there all along. Health institutions cannot tackle this alone.

Read more
Showing 28 to 36 of 62 items

An error occurred, please try again later