Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Childhood obesity

Kids fast food menu
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
28 Sep 2020

Impact investing for social change with the new SMASH app

Impact investing can play a pivotal role in tackling health issues. Here's how we're investing to create systemic change that helps children eat healthier.

Read more

COVID-19 Multiple long-term conditions

Man walking in the park with walking poles
Rohan Martyres
Rohan Martyres
Programme Director (maternity cover)
Opinion
20 Aug 2020

Financial shields during COVID-19 to protect health

How we're acting on the evidence that debt and money worries can lead to food insecurity, poor diets, higher stress levels and deteriorating mental health.

Read more

COVID-19 Multiple long-term conditions

Shops and people in Brixton Village
Sham Rajyaguru
Sham Rajyaguru
Communications Manager
Opinion
03 Aug 2020

Neighbourhoods are key in responding to COVID-19

During the pandemic, we've seen people turn to their communities and neighbourhoods to support each other. We explain how hyper-local approaches are key to our work to improve urban health.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Shopping basket filled with products
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director
Opinion
30 Jul 2020

Our part to play in the new National Food Strategy

Where children grow up is a big predictor of their chances of becoming overweight or obese. We think the strategy can go further to tackle childhood obesity.

Read more

Urban health

People walking by a bus stop
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
27 Jul 2020

The collective responsibility for urban health

The pandemic has fast-forwarded a clock on urban health patterns that were there all along. Health institutions cannot tackle this alone.

Read more

COVID-19 Multiple long-term conditions

Two women walking by the side of the road
Barbara Reichwein
Barbara Reichwein
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
06 May 2020

How we are acting on health inequalities during COVID-19

When our health suffers, so do our social and economic lives. Here's how we're supporting the health of our communities during the pandemic and beyond.

Read more

COVID-19 Childhood obesity

Mother and child walking down the street
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director
Opinion
30 Apr 2020

Improving children’s access to nutritious food during COVID-19

How we’re adapting our programme to further increase children’s access to nutritious food during the pandemic.

Read more

COVID-19 Urban health

Woman wearing a face mask in the street
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
30 Mar 2020

COVID-19: supporting our partners and local communities

Communities and local institutions have been devastated by COVID-19. We set out an immediate and long-term plan to support them.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Parents walking with their child in a pram in the rain
Larissa Lockwood
Head of Health and Air Quality, Global Action Plan
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Air pollution and children’s health

We explore the often hidden and harmful effects of air pollution on children and what interventions are available to help.

Read more
Showing 28 to 36 of 57 items

An error occurred, please try again later