Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Childhood obesity

Boy at school food counter
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
31 Oct 2019

How is our work on childhood obesity informing Government policy?

The evidence we've gathered on childhood obesity, alongside others from the sector, is supporting changes in policy.

Read more

Urban health

Clear the air: Skyline of London including Tower Bridge
Rowena Estwick
Rowena Estwick
National and International Partnerships Manager (on secondment)
Opinion

10 global cities we’re learning from on urban health

We're learning about how people in other cities are addressing urban health and the impacts of living in urban environments. 

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

Man writing
Polly Mackenzie
Chief Executive, Demos
Opinion
04 Oct 2019

Financial interventions to slow progression to multiple conditions

Our work shows a strong link between a lack of financial security and ill-health. We're designing financial interventions to promote better health.

Read more

Childhood obesity

School food hall
Rebecca Sunter
Rebecca Sunter
Programme Director (maternity cover)
Opinion
30 Sep 2019

Supporting schools to provide healthy options

We're working with local schools to ensure healthy food and physical activity become the norm for all children throughout the day.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Baby with yoghurt
Carole Coulon
Carole Coulon
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
30 Sep 2019

Giving families access to healthy options

Positively changing home environments can be difficult. We share the work we're doing to improve children's health in homes and early years settings.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Shops and people in Brixton Village
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
30 Sep 2019

Creating change in streets to tackle childhood obesity

Sharing how we're working across sectors to address obesogenic streets and what our next steps are through our ‘streets’ strand.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

Block of flats with tree and outdoor playground
Rohan Martyres
Rohan Martyres
Programme Director (maternity cover)
Opinion
30 Sep 2019

The health impacts of work, finance and housing

We discuss how we’re developing the social risk factors strand of our programme, and the types of organisations we’re looking to work with.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

City skyline with smog
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
24 Sep 2019

Combating the health effects of poor air quality

Poor air quality is one the key environmental factors that drives poor health in cities. Here's how we're learning for our urban health programme.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Children eating breakfast
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
20 Sep 2019

What will it take to close the gap? Two years into our childhood obesity programme

How we're working to bring the rates of childhood obesity down in neighbourhoods with the lowest incomes to the level of those in more affluent areas.

Read more
Showing 55 to 63 of 72 items

An error occurred, please try again later