Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Health effects of air pollution

Parents walking with their child in a pram in the rain
Larissa Lockwood
Head of Health and Air Quality, Global Action Plan
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Air pollution and children’s health

We explore the often hidden and harmful effects of air pollution on children and what interventions are available to help.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Road near a railway underpass
Jacob West
Executive Director of Healthcare Innovation, British Heart Foundation
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Clean air is vital for those with heart conditions

Clean air is good for everyone but we explore why it's especially important for those with heart conditions.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Cars on road
Frank Kelly
Chair of Environmental Health, Imperial College London
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Solving air pollution is within our reach

Kings College's Dr Frank J Kelly discusses why we require better evidence around what works in order to solve the issue of air pollution.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Skate slopes in a park
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
11 Mar 2020

Tackling the health effects of air pollution – key lessons

Air pollution is a complex issue. Here we share the key lessons guiding our approach to tackling the health effects of air pollution.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

Older woman with a crutch crossing the road and pulling a trolley
Barbara Reichwein
Barbara Reichwein
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
25 Feb 2020

Ten years on from the Marmot Review

Over the past decade, very little has progressed at a national scale to reduce inequality. We discuss why these health inequalities are not inevitable.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Drinks cabinet in a convenience store
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
20 Feb 2020

Making convenience stores healthier

Sharing what we’ve learnt from our local pilot in Southwark where we introduced small changes to nudge consumers towards healthier options.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Young people outside chicken shop
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
10 Jan 2020

Learning from London’s Foodscape

We studied how the built environment shapes how young people eat, and explore the need for transforming transit stops and creating new civic spaces for young people.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Boxes of healthy takeaway
Louise Luckhurst
Louise Luckhurst
Communications Manager (maternity leave)
Opinion
06 Jan 2020

Healthy takeaway and community cooking

We're exploring ways to make our food environments healthier for children and families.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Girl on swing
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
13 Dec 2019

Collaborating for the future to improve children’s health

We're partnering and collaborating with food retailers and manufacturers to improve local food retail environments.

Read more
Showing 46 to 54 of 72 items

An error occurred, please try again later