Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Opinion - Impact on Urban Health

Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

COVID-19 Multiple long-term conditions

Two women walking by the side of the road
Barbara Reichwein
Barbara Reichwein
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
06 May 2020

How we are acting on health inequalities during COVID-19

When our health suffers, so do our social and economic lives. Here's how we're supporting the health of our communities during the pandemic and beyond.

Read more

COVID-19 Childhood obesity

Mother and child walking down the street
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
30 Apr 2020

Improving children’s access to nutritious food during COVID-19

How we’re adapting our programme to further increase children’s access to nutritious food during the pandemic.

Read more

COVID-19 Urban health

Woman wearing a face mask in the street
Keiron Boyle
Kieron Boyle
Chief Executive
Opinion
30 Mar 2020

COVID-19: supporting our partners and local communities

Communities and local institutions have been devastated by COVID-19. We set out an immediate and long-term plan to support them.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Parents walking with their child in a pram in the rain
Larissa Lockwood
Head of Health and Air Quality, Global Action Plan
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Air pollution and children’s health

We explore the often hidden and harmful effects of air pollution on children and what interventions are available to help.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Road near a railway underpass
Jacob West
Executive Director of Healthcare Innovation, British Heart Foundation
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Clean air is vital for those with heart conditions

Clean air is good for everyone but we explore why it's especially important for those with heart conditions.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Cars on road
Frank Kelly
Chair of Environmental Health, Imperial College London
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Solving air pollution is within our reach

Kings College's Dr Frank J Kelly discusses why we require better evidence around what works in order to solve the issue of air pollution.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Skate slopes in a park
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
11 Mar 2020

Tackling the health effects of air pollution – key lessons

Air pollution is a complex issue. Here we share the key lessons guiding our approach to tackling the health effects of air pollution.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

Older woman with a crutch crossing the road and pulling a trolley
Barbara Reichwein
Barbara Reichwein
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
25 Feb 2020

Ten years on from the Marmot Review

Over the past decade, very little has progressed at a national scale to reduce inequality. We discuss why these health inequalities are not inevitable.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Drinks cabinet in a convenience store
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
20 Feb 2020

Making convenience stores healthier

Sharing what we’ve learnt from our local pilot in Southwark where we introduced small changes to nudge consumers towards healthier options.

Read more
Showing 37 to 45 of 62 items

An error occurred, please try again later