Opinion

Insights from our team and partners.

Health effects of air pollution

Road near a railway underpass
Jacob West
Executive Director of Healthcare Innovation, British Heart Foundation
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Clean air is vital for those with heart conditions

Clean air is good for everyone but we explore why it's especially important for those with heart conditions.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Cars on road
Frank Kelly
Chair of Environmental Health, Imperial College London
Opinion
12 Mar 2020

Solving air pollution is within our reach

Kings College's Dr Frank J Kelly discusses why we require better evidence around what works in order to solve the issue of air pollution.

Read more

Health effects of air pollution

Skate slopes in a park
Kate Langford
Kate Langford
Programme Director
Opinion
11 Mar 2020

Tackling the health effects of air pollution – key lessons

Air pollution is a complex issue. Here we share the key lessons guiding our approach to tackling the health effects of air pollution.

Read more

Multiple long-term conditions

Older woman with a crutch crossing the road and pulling a trolley
Barbara Reichwein
Barbara Reichwein
Programme Director (maternity leave)
Opinion
25 Feb 2020

Ten years on from the Marmot Review

Over the past decade, very little has progressed at a national scale to reduce inequality. We discuss why these health inequalities are not inevitable.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Drinks cabinet in a convenience store
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
20 Feb 2020

Making convenience stores healthier

Sharing what we’ve learnt from our local pilot in Southwark where we introduced small changes to nudge consumers towards healthier options.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Young people outside chicken shop
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
10 Jan 2020

Learning from London’s Foodscape

We studied how the built environment shapes how young people eat, and explore the need for transforming transit stops and creating new civic spaces for young people.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Girl on swing
Jessica Attard
Jessica Attard
Portfolio Manager
Opinion
13 Dec 2019

Collaborating for the future to improve children’s health

We're partnering and collaborating with food retailers and manufacturers to improve local food retail environments.

Read more

Childhood obesity

Boy at school food counter
Sarah Hickey
Sarah Hickey
Programme Director
Opinion
31 Oct 2019

How is our work on childhood obesity informing Government policy?

The evidence we've gathered on childhood obesity, alongside others from the sector, is supporting changes in policy.

Read more

Urban health

Skyline of London including Tower Bridge
Rowena Estwick
Rowena Estwick
International and National Partnerships Manager
Opinion

10 global cities we’re learning from on urban health

We're learning about how people in other cities are addressing urban health and the impacts of living in urban environments. 

Read more
Showing 37 to 45 of 57 items

An error occurred, please try again later